Tuesday, March 29, 2011

STS-135 Crew Announced

NASA has announced the crew for the STS-135 crew, the last shuttle astronauts. They are: Commander Chris Ferguson, Pilot Douglas Hurley, Mission Specialist 1 Sandra Magnuson and Mission Specialist 2 Rex Walheim. The last shuttle mission to fly with just four crewmembers on board was STS-6, launched on April 4, 1983, 28 years before STS-135, aboard Space Shuttle Challenger.

Multi-Purpose Logistics Module (MPLM) Raffaello would make up the majority of the payload. The MPLM will be filled with 16 resupply racks, which is the maximum that it can handle.

Garrett was aboard Atlantis's last fight, STS-132, which launched last May. So we have a serious thing for Atlantis. And we will be there, just as we were for Garrett's flight.

1 comment:

Paulie said...

Cool that a crew has been announced, cool that there will be an STS-135, cool that you will be there, and cool that Atlantis makes the last shuttle flight!